KRAFTy little thing, this Mac n Cheese

Kraft Macaroni and Cheese: every little kid’s staple.  I cannot count the number of baby-sitters, tired parents, older siblings that presented this creamy, cheesy dish of pure wheat and cheese with a thorough and convincing smile.  After all, the dish does taste like heaven in your mouth, while it may not be either the healthiest nor the most “allergy-friendly” plate on the planet.

My favorite story about macaroni and cheese actually comes from when I was trying to “Bubble Child” it at home with my little brother.  It was Christmas break a few years ago, and I was at home experimenting with recipes and making them “safe” for me and my fellow sensitive stomach friends.  I had played around a lot with dairy-free mac n cheese recipes, and felt like I had finally found the solution.  I made a full pan of Mac n Cheese, ate about a fourth of it, and then put it in the refrigerator to save for the next day.

The next day rolled around and the Mac n Cheese was nowhere to be found in the fridge.  I turned around, and found my little brother stuffing his face with a bowl of Kraft Mac n Cheese.  I, thereby, assumed that it could not be he that ate my dairy-free mac n cheese, so asked him if he knew what happened to it.  He said, “Oh… that Mac n Cheese?  I ate it all last night.”

Mind you, this is while he stuffing his face with “real” Mac n Cheese.

I then replied, “Well, good sir, you do know that it was dairy- and gluten-free, right?

He immediately spit out his “real” mac and looked at me stunned.  I knew I had succeeded in creating my Bubble Child cheesy pasta dish.

Thus, here it is for you to trick family members with.  So creamy, even the cows don’t know it’s not the “real” thing.

Enjoy!

Bubble Child Mac n Cheese

1 1/2 cups gluten-free corn elbow pasta*5 tbs. vegetable margarine (non-dairy)1/2 cup + 1/4 cup plain soymilk creamer1 cup soy parmesan cheese, grated + 2 tbs. to top

1 cup soy cheddar cheese, grated

pepper to taste (optional)

 

Preparation time: 8 minutes

Cook time: 25 minutes

Serves 4-6 

 

1.  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees fareneheit.

2.  Cook pasta according to the directions on the package and drain.  Do not rinse.  Empty into an ungreased casserole or baking dish.

3.  In a large saucepan, melt the margarine over medium-low heat.

4.  Add flour, and stir.  Then add 1/2 cup of the creamer, and stir until thick.  About 1-2 minutes.

5.  Add both 1 cup parmesan and 1 cup cheddar cheeses and stir until blended and just starting to melt, about 1 minute.

6.  Add the rest of the creamer (1/4 cup), and optional pepper, and stir until melted and gooey.

7.  Top the pasta with the cheese sauce.  Mix that sauce in well!  ..coating all of the pieces with the cheese.

8.  Sprinkle the remaining 2 tbs. parmesan on top of the macaroni, and pop it in the oven.

9.  Bake 20-25 minutes, until the top starts to brown and the sides are bubbling.  Take out of the oven, let cool for about 5 minutes before serving, then dish it up, and hear everyone go, “Mmmmmmmmmm.” ;)

 *for corn sensitivities, use rice elbow pasta

Leave a comment

Filed under dairy bubble, gluten bubble, recipes, vegan

Leave a Reply

