Almost as cool as a Chia Pet… Chia Seeds.

Whilst eating my Udi’s Gluten-Free Ancient Grains bread, I stopped to ponder: what is Chia and why am I putting it in my mouth as a Bubble Child without having researched it first?!

I was aware that Chia was a seed, and that was about all.  Hoping my immune system would not be screaming for my Epi-Pen in a few seconds, I scrambled to the computer to do my research on this seed flocking the slices of my bread.

Turns out not only was I safe (with my nut allergy) to eat Chia seeds (they are seeds, not nuts, after all), but doing my body some good!  They are incredibly healthy, and an excellent substitute for nuts, as they have all of those “good fats”, protein, and fiber benefits that nuts are so coveted for.

In a nutshell (pun intended), here’s why Bubble Children should consider Chia Seeds.  They…

1. have an incredible amount of Omega-3’s, which we often times miss by skipping out on nuts.

2. are high in protein, fiber, and good fats, which keep you full, nourished, and regulate your digestion.

3. are gluten-free.

4. contain several vitamins and minerals!  Amongst them lie calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, zinc, iron, and niacin, to name a few.

5. have an abnormally high antioxidant level.

Buy them online, or do your own research, at http://www.thechiaseed.com/

Leave a comment

Filed under buy me, gluten bubble, nut bubble, smarty pants

Leave a Reply

