Inspiration: Does “Wheat-free” mean “Gluten-free”?

While shopping today on my lunch break for snacks and what not at Amish Market, this fabulous New York boutique grocer, I ran into a conundrum: Newman’s Own Creme-O’s were labeled “Wheat-free” and “Dairy-free”, but were marked specifically “Not a Gluten-Free Product”.

Given that the common perception of gluten is the protein found in wheat, I immediately flipped over the package to see where the gluten culprit may be.

First ingredient listed: Barley flour.

Oh.

Although I would have loved to have chowed down on some organic oreo-esque sweet treats, reading this was such a nice reminder that gluten does not just frolic in the realm of wheat.  Us Bubble Children have to look out for:

-Wheat

-Barley

-Rye

-Rolled oats

-Durham

-Spelt

-Semolina

-Oat bran

Knowledge is power, and so is control over your digestive comfort.  :)

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under gluten bubble, smarty pants

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s