Research: DOES VITAMIN-D DEFICIENCY CAUSE ALLERGIES IN CHILDREN?

Sunday is a day of relaxation for this Bubble Child, a day where I get to fiddle around on things I wouldn’t normally have time to do.  My morning fiddling, after making some delicious gluten-free pancakes, of course, was doing some research on the causes of allergies.

<–good morning, sunshine.

While there is no concrete cause for food allergies, the common finger-pointing goes to:

generations of genetically modified ingredients hindering the way we naturally break down foods.  (This is strengthened by the fact that food allergies in France are so minimal, and they have kept their food ridiculously pure since day 1.)

over-sanitization of everything in the United States.  (Our immune systems are as weak as the country’s dollar.  …oops.)

genetics.  Straight-up family history.  Mom had peanut allergies?  Good chance child will, too.  (Sorry, future kids.)

While these are all well and good and logical, I found one today that had me scratching my head, to say the least:

“Children who had vitamin D deficiency*, were 2.4 times as likely to have a peanut allergy than were children with sufficient levels of vitamin D**.” -Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University research study of 3,000 children, 2011

What they are basically saying here, is that while Vitamin D deficiency does not cause food allergies, it is more likely that a child who did not get sufficient amounts of Vitamin D is far more likely to develop food allergies.

The head scratching?  I grew up in California.  My dad questioned whether or not I was his daughter, at first, by how tan I was as a baby.  (Fortunately, I am, as both blood tests and personality traits [*sigh*] will illustrate.)  I most certainly got my fair share of Vitamin D from the sun growing up.  While this study merely showed a correlation, I don’t think we need to start baking our kids in UV rays or shoving shitake mushrooms or vitamin-enriched milk down our children’s throats to prevent food allergies.

*defined as less than 15 nanograms of vitamin D per milliliter of blood

**more than 30 nanograms of vitamin D per milliliter of blood

Leave a comment

Filed under smarty pants

Leave a Reply

