Inspiration: AVOCADO SUBSTITUTE!

Since Bubble Child is my baby, and cooking for food allergies is my passion, it tends to come up in conversation a lot, regardless of whether or not this is the intention.  I have found a few things remarkable about these exchanges:

1. Pretty much everyone I talk to has or knows someone with at least one or more food allergies/sensitivities.

2. People have some pretty FUNKY food allergies!

(Coming from a girl with a cucumber skin and coffee allergy, this is saying a lot.)

One of the more frequent (and depressing) ones I have encountered is the avocado allergy.  Yes, coffee allergies are really, really sad, too, but avocado?  The California native in me finds this blasphemous to human existence.  No sushi rolls with avocado?  No turkey, avocado, basil sun-dired tomato sandwich with whole-grain dijon mustard?  No… GUACAMOLE?!?!

<–truth.

Alas, dear avocado-fretters, we have a solution.  Yesterday, before assisting with Chef Abigail Hitchcock’s cooking class at Camaje Bistro in Greenwich Village, I stopped in for a quick bite at this awesome Jamaican restaurant, Miss Lily’s.  We are talking LEGIT Jamaican food, with things like Callaloo and Cassava on the menu.  They even serve real Ginger Brew imported all the way from the island.

One of the appetizers was a platter of plantain chips with this thing called “ackee”.  I love my plantain chips, so immediately inquired what this ackee dip business was all about.  “It’s like guacamole,” the server replied.  SOLD! to the Bubble Child on the right.

Ackee, when boiled and mashed up, has an incredibly creamy consistency, like that of avocado, and absorbs the flavors of the other herbs and garnishes of the dish, also like avocado.  This dip was incredible, and a really amazing substitution for avocados.

To prepare ackee dip, boil the fruit in water for about 5-10 minutes, or until soft, remove from heat, pit, skin, and mash the contents.  Mix with chopped garlic, lemon juice, a pinch of sea salt, and refrigerate for about 2 hours, or until cold.  Then mix in some chopped tomatoes and cilantro, and you’ve got yourself some guac!

9 Comments

Filed under buy me, dairy bubble, explore NYC, gluten bubble, nut bubble, recipes, smarty pants, vegan

9 responses to “Inspiration: AVOCADO SUBSTITUTE!

  1. Bubble, you da bomb, baby! I have an avocado allergy and break out in hives whenever I eat them. I love them, but alas. But knowing that there is a sub will help me. Thanks.

  2. alida

    can the ackee be used as a pie filling using other ingredients? If so, which ingredients?

    • Alida,
      I have not used this as a pie filling before, but given what I’ve eaten from prepared ackee, I would estimate its propensities to be useful in both fat and binding properties in pie fillings. However, make sure you cook it properly, as the fruit is definitely not good for you at all when not fully heated through. There is a recipe for Avocado Tahini Cheesecake in the Bubble Child cookbook that I think would be a fitting experiment. :)

  3. MM Avelleyra

    Be careful – ackee is known as one of the most toxic foods in the world if not prepared properly. Do your research.

    • Thank you for the tip! It is always so important to know how to cook food items, and happily this food is not at all bad for you when prepared properly and is, in fact, a wonderfully tasty and healthy substitute for those allergic to avocado.

  4. This is great news. I have a banana and avocado allergy, and am often dismayed saddened by what I am missing out on. It has become even more apparent since I started a Vegan diet. But this is great info!! I have been known in my more foolish years to eat guacamole in a dish, with full knowledge of its presence, just to have that blissful moment before the reaction hits. I only did it a few times, needlessl to say it was a painful decision.

  5. Julianne Basques

    Avocado, spinach and tomatoes are now trigger foods for rosacea for this weeping Californian! Can’t wait to find more vegetarian substitutions!

  6. Kathleen

    I could hug you for this! Most people don’t realize that avocados have proteins that are found in latex. So does, kiwi, banana, passion fruit and a few others. I have always had a problem with latex and as I grew older, my allergies to the foods I mentioned above developed. I’ve been looking for a substitute for avocados for what seems like forever. Thank you!

    • You are so welcome! While I am yet to develop my own banana and avocado allegies (knock on wood), I have known far too many friends who have them. I was SO happy to come across this substitute, as well, for so many reasons and so many people who do have this sensitivity. Enjoy guacamole!!

Leave a Reply

