PeaNOT Butter – the recipe I wish I had as a kid.

Happy children with their PB&J…

<–This was never me.  

(OK, most definitely not, as I am not a boy.)

<–It being a girl doesn’t help.  Still never me.

Ahhhh.  This looks more familiar…

<–Satisfying.

<–No one likes to be alone.

If the pictures below make moisture form in your eyes, you could probably use this post.  I know I definitely wish I had it when I was a kid and eating Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches out of my brown paper bag at lunch time.  What was comfort food for most was a death wish for me.

But my, oh my, did those gooey sandwiches look tasty!

When I started developing recipes to replace the traditional treats that I could not enjoy, nut butter was at the top of my list.  While there are some seed butters on the market, like SunButter and I.M. Healthy Soy Nut Butter*, there is nothing like freshly-made, nutritious creamed seeds.

*I am also not that big of a fan of soy products, in general, so the idea of spreading processed soy beans all over my bread and smashing together with colored mashed fruit doesn’t sound too appealing.  Nor does the sound of dipping a banana modified soy beans.  Call me crazy, but that doesn’t exactly ring the comfort of good ole’ PB&J, albeit it won’t kill me.

Thus!  Take a looksy at how easy it is to make your own nut butter at home.  You can use any seed that you or your Bubble Child is not allergic to.  Keep in mind that different seeds have different amounts of oil, so simply add more oil and honey and/or agave nectar accordingly to adjust to your desired creaminess!

PeaNOT Butter

2 cups seeds, raw and shelled*

5 tbs. olive, grapeseed, avocado, or sunflower oil

2 tbs. agave nectar or honey (your choice!)**

2 tsp. sea salt

Preparation time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 5 minutes

Yields 1 cup nut butter

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Spread out seeds on ungreased baking sheet.  Toast for 5 minutes, or until they are browned.
  3. In food processor, pulse then grind seeds until fine.  Slowly add 1 tbs. oil at a time, until creamy.  (Your seeds may require more or less oil depending upon how much oil is naturally in them.)
  4. Blend in honey/agave nectar and salt.  Taste, and add more oil or syrup to your liking.
  5. Spread it on a sandwich, put it on your fruit, or store unused butter in air-tight container in the fridge for up to a week.

*You can use any combination of 2 cups seeds.  I, personally, use 1 1/2 cups sunflower seeds or pumpkin seeds, and 1/2 cup flax seeds to give this a healthy variation and a fine dose of omega fatty acids!

**For sweeter butter, use 1/4 cup agave or honey.

2 Comments

Filed under dairy bubble, gluten bubble, nut bubble, recipes, vegan

2 responses to “PeaNOT Butter – the recipe I wish I had as a kid.

  1. Pingback: Bubble Child on the go. | bubblechild

  2. noelnoms

    This is a great idea and looks rather tasty. Thank you for posing this recipe!

Leave a Reply

