Homemade Chorizo Goat Cheese Burrito//giant crispy taco

Although it may be scorching outside, summer simply seems to call for spicy food.  Particularly: Mexican.

After working at Mextiza since the spring, I have become well acquainted with the do’s and do-not’s for a Bubble Child in Mexican cuisine.  The do-nots?  Over-processed meats, flour tortillas, and, for me, Mexican cheese.  A few Bubble Children also have issues with some corn, like yours truly, although it is gluten-free.

The do’s?  GREAT CHORIZO, goat’s milk, and a new discovery: Gluten-Free Teff Wraps!

It’s nice to like where you come from, and I found this to be the case with my original chorizo recipe I developed after traveling in Spain last summer.  While I have learned more chorizo methods than I thought I would ever even hear of in my current line of work, I still love that original recipe.

And I put it to use, today!

Here is one of the tastier burritos I have ever made– that can accidentally be made into an enormous crispy taco, if you leave it in the oven a little (forgot about it in the oven) longer.  I actually prefer the crispy version.

I’m not complaining the soft tortilla turned hard.

Homemade Chorizo Goat Cheese Burrito

1/3 cup homemade chorizo (click for recipe)

1 large ivory teff wrap*

1 tbs. crumbled goat cheese

1 small tomato, diced

1/2 small onion, diced

*

Preparation time: 3 minutes

Cook time: 4-8 minutes

Yields one burrito/large taco

*

1. Pre-heat oven to 450 degrees Fahrenheit.  Place tortilla flat on baking sheet.  Saute’ chorizo in small pan for about 4 minutes, or until hot.  Remove from heat, and pour in center of tortilla.

2.  Sprinkle tomato on top.

3.  Do the same with the cheese.

4. Bake for 3 minutes for a burrito, or about 7 minutes for a crispy taco.  Remove from oven, and sprinkle with raw diced onion.  For a burrito, fold in sides, then top and bottom.  For a cripy taco, fold in half (center should be softer than the crispy outsides) and dig in!

*if you cannot find LaTortillaFactory’s Ivory Teff Wraps at your local stores, click here to get them online, or substitute your favorite gluten-free tortilla.

Leave a comment

Filed under buy me, explore PORTLAND, gluten bubble, nut bubble, recipes

Leave a Reply

