Meyers Lemons + Chocolate + a roast squash recipe = Day is Made.

If you have read a mere median of 10 posts from me, you probably know how much I love Famer’s Markets.  Not only do they showcase the freshest ingredients money (or bribery) can buy, but they are a slough of culinary inspiration.  And fun with free samples.

My day was brought to an ultimate height today when I stumbled upon RX Missionary Chocolates at the Moreland Farmer’s Market in Portland.  An energetic chap, who I later found to be named Josh, was carving away at plump chocolate truffles.  While I curiousity-kills-the-cat passed by trying not to be noticed, a thick slice of confection inched its way in front of my face.

“Does it have nuts?” I asked.
“Lavender sea salt,” he replies.
“Great.  But does it have nuts?”
“No,” he smiles.

<–Thank God.

These little morsels of chocolate heaven in human-available form are some of the most scrumptious truffles I have had… and we’re talking Paris, and all over.  I am astonished they are both dairy and gluten-free.  One of them, in particular, actually blew my mind, a bit.  The Meyer Lemon Truffle.  I guess the excitement on my face was hard to hide, as Josh, bless his soul, gave me one for free.  DAY=MADE.

And now I sit in my backyard, sipping on a glass of French Cabernet Franc, eating an appetizer salad of radicchio and goat cheese, waiting while I roast the squash that my co-worker gave me from his mother’s garden.  There are times to be primarily humble, and there are times to be outwardly appreciative.  I think that this past hour merits the latter of the two.
So I may as well share:
Tarragon Roasted Yellow Squash

1 yellow summer squash*, thickly diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp. dried basil
1 1/2 tsp. dried tarragon
3 tsp. olive oil
1/2 tsp. sea salt
1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

Preparation time: 3 minutes
Cooking time: 45 minutes
Serves 3-4

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.  Toss all ingredients in a baking pan until coated, evenly.  Bake for 40-45 minutes, or until squash is caramelized, but not blackened.  Remove, and serve with your favorite protein.

*can use any squash desired.  Cooking times may vary by 15 minutes, so check on your oven to make sure it is cooked to just caramelized.

1 Comment

Filed under buy me, dairy bubble, explore PORTLAND, gluten bubble, nut bubble, recipes, social butterfly, vegan

One response to “Meyers Lemons + Chocolate + a roast squash recipe = Day is Made.

  1. Pingback: Radicchio, Goat Cheese, Balsamic, and Blueberry Salad | bubblechild

Leave a Reply

