Inspiration: SHREDDED MANGO

shredded mangoI don’t know if we can use the term “Indian Spring” like “Indian Summer”, but if there is such a thing, that is this in Paris.  It’s sunny out.  The gray sides of the buildings must be terribly confused, the flowers on my balcony are either wilting or reaching up to the rays depending on their seasonality, and I got tan today.  Never, ever, did I envision a bronzing skin in March.  I suppose it’s an early birthday present (2 days, 2 days!  March 12!!)

Anyways, I found a new toy, and the very kind lady who sold me this toy brought up a dynamic idea that serves as today’s inspiration: Shredded Mango.  It goes well with sunshine.  And rice.

kiwiThis little Kiwi brand professional cutting tool functions as a mini handheld French mandolin.  You run it down the side of your fruit or vegetable and it makes very thin juliennes… it’s ridiculous easy and I am not grating all of my vegetables into tiny pieces.  I hope it stops soon.  We do have teeth for a reason, but I just can’t get enough of this texture!

Anyways, for those who have carrot allergies, and cannot have that delightful salad normally served with dim sum of carrots and green papaya grated, try getting an under-ripe mango, peeling it, and then turning it into thin batons.  Toss it with some sesame oil, a splash of lemon juice, pinch salt, and sesame seeds for something fun.

Leave a comment

Filed under buy me, explore PARIS

Leave a Reply

